(50PlusPrime) TROY, MICHIGAN --
What is gluten? Gluten is the protein source in found in “grass-related grains” such as in wheat, barley and rye.
While Rice is a “grass-related grain,” it is lacking in another component that the other three contain, therefore, the protein in rice differs greatly from the protein in wheat, barley and rye.
When reading a nutrition label, look for the following words to see if it contains wheat. If they are listed, then you should not eat the product:
• Bromated flour
• Durum flour
• Enriched flour
• Graham flour
• Phosphated flour
• Plain flour
• Self-rising flour
• White flour
Other processed foods that may contain Wheat, Barley or Rye:
(1) Beer – all types
(2) Malt and Malted Beverages (includes syrup or extracts) and Malt Vinegar (does not include cider, wine or distilled vinegar)
(3) Bouillon, gravy, soup, sauces (including soy)
(4) Cold cuts: hot dogs, salami, sausage
(5) Snacks: Tortilla chips and potato chips
*Communion Wafers and Matzo
*(If you are allergic to wheat, ask your church to provide Gluten Free Communion Wafers – they are available – we use them at my church!)
Under the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004, if a food or an ingredient contains wheat or protein from wheat, the word "wheat" must be clearly stated on the food label. Practically speaking, this means that if another term for wheat is used in an ingredient list, the word "wheat" must be included on the food label either in the ingredient list or in a separate "Contains" statement. All packaged food products regulated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration that are labeled on or after January 1, 2006, must be in compliance.